Rutgers-New Brunswick Enters Partnership With Cooperman College Scholars



Rutgers University-New Brunswick is partnering with Cooperman College Scholars, a scholarship program supporting academically talented, highly motivated students from Essex County to achieve a four-year college degree. 

The Rutgers-New Brunswick Cooperman partnership is a collaboration between the Rutgers Office of the Chancellor, the Division of Enrollment Management and the Division of Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement. 

The incoming group of the Class of 2024 Cooperman Scholars includes nine students – six attending the School of Arts and Sciences, two from the School of Environmental and Biological Sciences and one from the School of Business. Rutgers-New Brunswick has ten pre-existing Cooperman Scholars from the Class of 2020 through 2023 who enrolled prior to Rutgers-New Brunswick becoming a Cooperman Scholars partner institution. Thirteen of the Cooperman Scholars attending Rutgers New Brunswick are EOF eligible.

The Cooperman College Scholars program identifies students who attended a public school in Essex County, and provides them with the resources for success by placing them in challenging, well-matched environments with solid support systems to promote college completion. “Partnerships like the Cooperman College Scholars Program not only highlight our university commitment to educational access and equity, but also serve as an example of the ways that we can partner with various entities to achieve this end,” said Anna Branch, vice chancellor of the Division of Diversity, Inclusion and Community Engagement at Rutgers-New Brunswick.

Please view the Rutgers Today feature to read more.